1812 Overture: The One Creative Thing You Must Hear This Week

Maybe it’s the fireworks boiling my blood for this weeks’ pick. Who can know these things? What we all know is what the finale of this piece sounds like because it is extremely overused in film. The piece in its entirety is much more beautiful than the finale on its own. Recently, I spent a few months training to be a professional concert pianist. Needless to say, despite my intense dedication this plan did not pan out entirely. Well, okay. One good thing that came of my months of training was a deep appreciation for classical music. During no other time in my life was I so entirely immersed in this world. I spent as many waking moments as I could learning, listening to, and planning to recreate the world’s greatest music. I had the intention to complete this goal by the throat. Perhaps that is why it choked to death.

Thanks to my teacher at the time, Rachmaninov [American spelling Rachmaninoff] became a fast favorite. Russian romanticism struck a deep chord in my heart with its melodic melancholy melodramas, and believe or not I used to profess that Tchaikovsky was my favorite composer of all time because he was Rach’s primary influence. I realize now how that thought was twisted. Although Rachmaninov has given us some timeless pieces, Tchaikovsky’s time on this planet changed music forever. He is the creator of countless definitive pieces, such as The Nutcracker Suite [including Dance of the Swans and Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy] and The Overture of 1812. The majority of his body of work is known to many over the entire planet, though most will not realize it until they hear classic after classic after classic and then are told they were all Tchaikovsky’s pieces.

I challange you to 7 days of Tchaikovsky. Here is the list:

  1. Enchanted Lake
  2. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
  3. Sleeping Beauty
  4. Russian Dance [reminds me of Grofé]
  5. Arabian Dance
  6. Hungarian Dance
  7. Full version of Overture of 1812

Sitting here on July 3rd in the USA, listening to the overture of 1812, has been quite an exciting and mysterious combination.

What type of music gets your juices flowing? Please share in the comments!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

